losangeles Home Photo.

Applications for 2022 Scholarships are now being accepted
Due Monday, April 11, 2022

Student Applications

Veteran Applications 


The Los Angeles Post of the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME-LA) remains committed to helping Los Angeles County STEM students succeed, and we are proud to announce our 2022 Scholarship Program. Due to the generous donations and fundraising efforts of our members and supporters over the last year, SAME-LA will award up to $15,000 in scholarships this year to deserving students.  

SAME-LA will be awarding scholarships to individuals who plan to enter college or vocational/technical school or are currently enrolled in an undergraduate program, majoring in science technology or a natural science, engineering, or math.

There are 4 categories of scholarships available. The eligibility requirements for each are listed below:  

  1. Los Angeles County High School Seniors (graduating in Spring 2022) 
    Accepted to a U.S. college in an accredited program in natural science or science technology, engineering, or math (STEM) 
  2. Current/New Vocational/Technical School Students
    Enrolling or continuing in a STEM-related program 
  3. Current Undergraduate Students
    Enrolled in or continuing in a STEM-related program
  4. United States Veterans 
    Pursuing a STEM-related program at a vocational/technical school, community college or other U.S. college/university

ALL scholarship applicants shall:

  • Reside in Los Angeles County
  • Begin/continue program by September 2022Attend SAME Scholarship Awards Event on Tuesday, May 17, 2022, to receive scholarship. 

SAME LA awarded a total of 3 new scholarships to outstanding seniors in the spring of 2020, as well as 2 renewal scholarships to recipients completing their freshman year and continuing to be enrolled in a STEM major for the fall of 2020.

If you have any questions about the scholarship program, or if you are interested in making a tax-deductible donation to this worthy cause, please contact the Scholarship Chair:

Cherie D. Eifler, CPSM

SAME Scholarship Chair

c/o Diaz•Yourman & Associates

1616 E. 17th Street

Santa Ana, CA 92705



Previous Scholarship Awards


  • Alessandro Leon-Contreras – LMU
  • Diego Ochoa – LMU
  • Indeyo Shaw – CSU – Los Angeles


  • Alex Gutierrez – LMU
  • Andrea Sanchez – LMU
  • Calvin Stephens – UC Berkeley
  • Emma Doyle – Penn State University
  • Matthew Lacayo – UC Berkeley


  • Crystal Enriquez – Cal Poly Pomona
  • Fabian Ruelas – LMU
  • Jonathan Zurita – LMU
  • London Shaw – CSU – Los Angeles


  • Gabriela Torres – LMU
  • Jesus Padilla – LMU
  • Jordan Edwards – Beloit College
  • Jorge Salazar – CSU – Los Angeles


  • Christian Aceves – UCI
  • Guillermo A. Rivas – UC San Diego
  • Victoria M. Ramirez – Pitzer College
  • Yenifer Estrada Sandoval – UC Riverside


  • Bertha Romero – UC Berkeley
  • Gabriela Bobadilla – UC Berkeley
  • Manuel Aceves – UC Riverside
  • Spring Guilford – Tulane University