• President 2022-2023
    Cindy Lincicome
    TLI Construction Inc.
  • President-Elect
    Col. Charles Perham, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
    Matrix Design Group
  • Immediate Past President
    Rear Adm. Mark A. Handley
    P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • Vice President
    Lt. Col. Michael Darrow, P.E.,
    F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • Vice President
    Richard "Rad" Delaney, RA, F.SAME
    Director of Maryland Architecture
    Prime AE Group, Inc.
  • Vice President
    Sharon Krock, SPWS, F.SAME
    Schnabel Engineering

National Leadership

The SAME Board of Direction, at its meeting on May 25, 2012, approved a new governance structure for the Society. This change instituted an entirely volunteer Board of Direction, led by six national officers elected by the membership: President, President-Elect, Past President and three Vice Presidents. The remainder of the voting Board of Direction includes 12 Elected Directors (who serve three-year terms), 18 Regional Vice Presidents (who have oversight of all Posts in their geographic region), and Chairs of the Communities of Interest (who lead the strategic direction of discipline or demographic-focused national groups).

In addition to the voting members, the Board of Direction includes several non-voting members: appointed Treasurer and Counsel, the SAME Executive Director, and up to three at-large directors (who may be in charge of task forces or partnerships, for instance).

Previous to the governance change in 2012, the SAME President primarily was a position that was held on a rotating basis by an Engineering Chief of one of the uniformed services. To ensure that the new governance structure involves input from the Engineering Service Chiefs, a Uniformed Services Advisory Group (USAG) was established to provide advice to SAME on how the organization can support the professional development of uniformed engineers and the needs of the uniformed service engineering departments for the betterment of our country. The USAG meets twice annually with the SAME National Officers.

In accordance with the SAME bylaws, national officers are elected prior to each year's Joint Engineer Training Conference & Expo. Nominations for elected office are made to the Executive Director by Jan. 15 and elections are held throughout the month of March.