Golden Eagle Nominations

Nominations are open for 2023 recipients.  It's never too early to begin thinking of worthy candidates.


Candidate for contributions to the profession must be an SAME Fellow with outstanding contributions to the engineering, architecture or construction, or related professions. The other candidate should be person with a distinguished career of service to the nation.


Candidate for contributions to the A/E/C profession: While not mandatory, it would be preferred if the candidate has been recognized, AFTER achieving Fellowship, for continuing to disposal outstanding contributions to SAME. This could include any of the following, or other similar type SAME position or SAME award:
Gerald C Brown mentoring award
Gold Medal
President’s Award
Distinguished Fellow
Post President 
National President or Foundation President
Individual IGE Award
Individual STEM Award
Ed Gibson Veteran Transition Medal 
The intent is that the Golden Eagle, being the pinnacle award presented by SAME, sets an example recognizing continued service to The Society

Candidate for contributions to the industry and country: none, at this time.  



Nominations for this award must be made by a SAME member. Nominations will be submitted using the SAME on-line form. Nominators must provide contact information for the nominee and the reasons why he/she believes the person should receive the award. Additional endorsements will be accepted and should be sent to Kathy Off,

The Vice Chair, Awards & Recognition, will provide potential nominees to the Distinguished Fellows Advisory Group for selection.

History of the Golden Eagle Award

In 1782 the bald eagle was chosen as the emblem of our new nation because of its long life, great strength and majestic looks, as well as the belief that the bald eagle could be found only on the North American continent.

One legend says that another reason the bald eagle was chosen as the U.S. national emblem was that, during an early morning battle of the American Revolution, the noise of the struggle awoke sleeping eagles on the heights, who flew from their nests and circled above the heads of the fighting men. As they flew above, they bellowed raucous cries, causing the patriots to exclaim, "They are shrieking for freedom!"

President John F. Kennedy once wrote of this majestic bird, "The Founding Fathers made an appropriate choice when they selected the eagle as the emblem of the nation. The fierce beauty and proud independence of this great bird aptly symbolize the strength and freedom of America."

For these reasons and more, the SAME Academy of Fellows named its annual honor after this majestic symbol of American dedication and spirit to a greater good. The award was sculpted as a crystal eagle in flight above a solid wooden base, further symbolizing the strength and character of the individuals being honored.


Past Golden Eagle Award Winners

SAME Fellows Honored for Contributions to the Engineering Profession

  • 2022 Vice Adm. Michael K. Loose, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2020-2021 Lt. Gen. Robert B. Flowers, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2019 Linda McKnight, F.SAME
  • 2018 Col. Edward Gibson, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2017 Harold I. Rosen, F.SAME
  • 2016 Lt. Gen. Robert Van Antwerp, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2015 Suzanne DiGeronimo, FAIA, PP, F.SAME
  • 2014 The Honorable James A. Rispoli, P.E., BCEE, F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2013 Col. James L. Lammie, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012 Brig. Gen. Ralph V. Locurcio, P.E., F. SAME, U.S. Army (Ret.)
  • 2011 Rear Adm. Benjamin F. Montoya, F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2010 William A. Brown Sr., P.E., HAIA, F.SAME
  • 2009 Rear Adm Jack Buffington, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2008 Maj. Gen. Joseph A. "Bud" Ahearn, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2007 Col. F.H.“Bud” Griffis, Ph.D., P.E.,NAC, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006 Maj. Gen. Charles E. Williams, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2005 Rear Adm. David J. Nash, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2004 Brig. Gen Gerald E. Galloway Jr., Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003 Lt. Gen. Henry J. Hatch, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003 Charles H. Thorton, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2002 Brig. Gen. Forrest T. Gay III, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2001 Frank H. Walk, D.E., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2000 Michael Haratunian, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1999 E. Manning Seltzer, F.SAME
  • 1998 Lt. Gen. John W. Morris, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 1997 Seymour S. Greenfield, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1996 Maj. Gen. Clifton D. Wright Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)


Prominent Leaders Honored for Contributions to National Security

  • 2022 Vice Adm. Jerome Adams, MD, FASA, USPHS (Ret.) 
  • 2020-2021 Joseph L. Galloway
  • 2019 Ambassador Douglas Lute
  • 2018 Gen. Craig R. McKinley, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2017 Gen. J.H. Binford Peay III, USA (Ret.)
  • 2016 Adm. Vern E. Clark, USN (Ret.)
  • 2015 Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan, USA (Ret.)
  • 2014 Lt. Gen. Theodore G. Stroup Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2013 Lt. Gen. Daniel W. Christman, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012 Gen. David H. Petraeus, Ph.D., USA (Ret.)
  • 2011 Adm. Thad W. Allen, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2010 Honorable Eric K. Shinseki
  • 2009 Lieutenant General Julius W. Becton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2008 Richard H. Carmona, M.D., M.P.H., FACS
  • 2007 Gen. Barry R. McCaffrey, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006 Adm. James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2005 Gen. Andrew J. Goodpaster, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2004 Gen. Henry Hugh Shelton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2002 Stephen E. Ambrose
  • 2001 Honorable David Hobson
  • 2000 Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF
  • 1999 Senator Robert J. Dole
  • 1998 Honorable W.G. Hefner
  • 1997 Honorable Richard B. Cheney
  • 1996 Norman R. Augustine